Canon 100mm L Thoughts

Canon 100L 100mm 2.8 photography prime lens product - Rob Moses Photography - The Camera Life Magazine-1

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

My initial impression of this lens is it feels great on the body, the way it’s weighted is perfect when shooting and it’s not too heavy or bulky to carry around. It’s a very easy lens to hold steady and the image stabilization feature is incredible. I like to take it out for walks with the kids and the dog or I’ll shoot a few shots on a tripod for fun. The sharpness at f16 and the bokeh at f2.8 blows me away. I’ll pack this lens in my bag every time I head out and always find a reason to use it. Portraits of the kids come out amazing, it’s a very serviceable macro for some interesting shots and it is great on the tripod. The focus is pretty quick and I can get the dog jumping, kids running and ducks flying. I would recommend this lens if you can get it at a good price I got mine used for $630 ($1049 new). The 100L is great because it produces high quality pictures and a sense of fun and adventure due to it’s versatility.

Canon 100L 100mm 2.8 photography prime lens product - Rob Moses Photography - The Camera Life Magazine-2

Below are some of my favourite pictures that I’ve taken with the lens.

Leaf - Canon 100L 100mm prime photography lens - The Camera Life Magazine

Building - Canon 100L 100mm prime photography lens - The Camera Life Magazine

Tree Branch - Canon 100L 100mm prime photography lens - The Camera Life Magazine

Trash Bin Bokeh - Canon 100L 100mm prime photography lens - The Camera Life Magazine

By Dusty Rivers

Canon 100L 100mm 2.8 photography prime lens product - Rob Moses Photography - The Camera Life Magazine-3

*Product shots courtesy of The Camera Life Magazine.

2 responses to “Canon 100mm L Thoughts

Leave a Reply

